“Happy In The Hollow» el nuevo trabajo de TOY que saldrá a la luz en enero de 2019

Dentro del circuito post-rockero son de los grupos más incombustibles del momento. La formación encabezada por Tom Dougall se ha cascado en seis años un total de tres discos extremadamente robustos, a los que ahora tendremos que sumar un cuarto. Titulado “Happy In The Hollow“, el prometedor sucesor de “Clear Shot” saldrá a la venta el 24 de enero de 2019 e incluirá piezas como ‘Sequence One’, ‘The Willo’ o ‘Energy’, cuyas sinuosas y encandiladoras formas ya pueden ser degustadas a través de YouTube y Spotify (“embeds” adjuntados bajo estos párrafos). ‘Energy’, el tercer adelanto en cuestión, equilibra muy bien la balanza, y mejor síntoma que este no puede haber. Es como la versión más descarnada y punk que creíamos que no volvería a repetirse en ellos (sobre todo, después de la transparencia sonora mostrada en “Clear Shot”). Visto lo visto, hay sorpresa: este chute llega con la alarma roja, es una urgencia a todas luces, como esa ‘Left Myself Behind’ de hace siete años que no te dejaba respirar.

TOY have announced details of their new album, Happy In The Hollow, which is released on Friday January 25th 2019. Their fourth album, and their first for new label Tough Lough Records, it’s unquestionably their most direct and propulsive album to date.

Recorded between their own home tape studios and mixed at Dan Carey’s Studio B in South London, the album was entirely produced and mixed by the band.

Having recently released a limited 12” featuring ‘The Willo’ and ‘Energy’, the band have today shared the latest track from the album, ‘Sequence One’.


Talking about the track, Toy say:
‘Sequence One’ is about running through a war zone of post apocalyptic proportions with your significant other. It was one of the first tracks we wrote when we started making Happy In The Hollow. We wrote it on the 5th Of April.
Happy In The Hollow is entirely uncompromising: an atmospheric capturing of a state of mind that touches on Post Punk, electronic dissonance, acid folk and Krautrock. Familiar qualities like metronomic rhythms, warping guitars, undulating synths and Tom’s gentle, reedy vocals are all in there, but so is a greater emphasis on melody, a wider scope, and a combining of the reassuring and the sinister that is as unnerving as it is captivating.’

The sound has without doubt expanded — and grown more confident — in part because this is the first album for which Toy has become a self-sufficient five-person unit doing everything for themselves.

“Each song was a blank canvas,” says Maxim. “Producers inevitably develop their own patterns over time, right down to certain drum sounds. We were starting from scratch and it felt very creative as a result. It’s an album we feel deeply connected to”.

Since 2010,
Toy have earned a reputation as a band of integrity, virtuosity and taste, with Tom, Maxim, Dominic, Charlie and (joining in 2015) Max creating a sound that is embedded in the underground tradition, yet distinctly their own.

Since their inception, they have released the acclaimed albums Toy (2012), Join The Dots (2013) and Clear Shot (2016), and toured everywhere from Serbia to China.TOY are: Tom Dougall (vocals / guitar), Dominic O’Dair (guitars), Maxim Barron (bass / vocals), Max Oscarnold (synths / modulations), Charlie Salvidge (drums / vocals).

1. Sequence One
2. Mistake A Stranger
3. Energy
4. Last Warmth Of The Day
5. The Willo
6. Jolt Awake
7. Mechanism
8. Strangulation Day
9. You Make Me Forget Myself
10. Charlie’s House
11. Move Through The Dark